top of page

APRIL 13th, 2277 - Gawen

Regulating was easy work. I really wanted to make an impression on my new boss, so I didn’t rest until I had one hundred fingers. Sometimes I would pass up Raiders, just to get where I was going, but Talon Company Mercs weren’t granted the same mercy. For the simple fact of accepting a hit on me for something like a disarming a nuclear weapon and making Megaton a safer place, I slayed. I just kept thinking, if they didn’t appreciate people like me, they certainly wouldn’t have any issues killing someone like Moira, and that didn’t sit well with me. They were either stubborn, ignorant or knew that the Mist of the Wasteland has never taken a prisoner, but they all kept their lips zipped about who put a bounty out on me. Before long I found myself encouraging Raiders with my shock sword to tell me where these Talon Company Mercs hid out. They lost a battle with the super mutants at the Capitol Building on a account of my vendetta. Still I got nowhere. While hunting them down, I came across a city of Ghouls holed up in an old Museum. I was directed there by a Ghoul named Willow. I couldn’t help but notice that she was pretty for a Ghoul, I couldn’t get over the decomposing look, but I imagined she was a real babe; before becoming a Ghoul. I checked out the city and was able to gain their trust by handing over all the scrap metal I was carrying. I preferred them to my own human company; they had a great sense of humor about their predicament and we bonded over how the Brotherhood of Steel were a bunch of assholes. ​After visiting the Underworld, I continued tracking Talon Company mercs, trying to figure out who wanted to kill me. My new activity got around the wasteland and I was sure Aaron spread my name around, because wherever I went, I was hearing about The Mist of the Wasteland. My story evolved. In Megaton, I was the embodiment of souls joined to Atom, who brought about righteous retribution. In Rivet City I was a mysterious creature created from a mutation, not unlike night stalkers from the west coast. My favorite was Cantebury Commons, where I was a hero like Grognak the Barbarian with the power of invisibility and invincibility. The invincibility truthfully is on account of all the med-x and whiskey, but I still like hearing the legend. I of course never divulged my identity, it has less to do with fear of fingers (what I call bad guys) and more to do with the fucking Brotherhood of Steel. ​I accidentally found myself between another fire-fight between super mutants and Brotherhood of Steel. They were wearing the boring unpainted power armor and if it weren’t for the pretty girl not wearing a helmet, I might not have helped them out. I made short work of the mutants in their path, leaving ash-pile after ash-pile. I really wanted a chance to talk to the pretty blond in power armor, so I revealed myself at the worst possible time; my first encounter with a behemoth. Even after they lost a few of their own, they couldn’t help but be impressed with the way I scaled and impaled the behemoth’s head with my sword. I finally had my shot.

She wasn’t as grateful as I expected and even gave me a lecture about how my gear is safer in their hands. I would have marked her another Brotherhood of Steel asshole, but she said, thanks to my help, she would ignore her mission of seizing my technology. She also knew who I was before I ever had the chance of a first impression. ​“So, you must be the Mist of the Wasteland.” ​“That’s not an official title. I’d be inclined to give my own name, if I didn’t think your guys would hunt me down and make my life more complicated.” ​“You saved a lot of lives here, today. As a matter of principle, you have nothing to fear, even if you possess technology better off in our hands.” ​“Okay, but you first.” ​“I’m Sentinel Lyons.” ​“Sentinel isn’t the first name I thought you’d have.” ​“Sentinel Sarah Lyons.” She smirked sternly. ​“Where are we now, Sentinel Sarah Lyons.” ​“This is the headquarters for the local radio station Galaxy New Radio.” ​“A nosy person might ask why the Brotherhood are interested in a radio station.” ​“The Brotherhood might tell that nosy person to mind their own business.”​ ​“What if I were curious and not nosy.” ​“Curiosity killed the Vault Dweller.” ​“That’s fine, but maybe I can help people I’m curious about.” ​“Come back here with a satellite dish and then we’ll talk.” ​“When you say we, do you mean?” ​“I mean Sentinel Lyons of the brotherhood of steel.” ​“I look forward to speaking with Sentinel Sarah Lyons.” I said as I activated my Stealth suit and made myself sparse. ​I wasn’t sure where I was going to find her a satellite disk, but I know I interested in more interactions with Sarah. I took my chances at the ruins of the museum of technology. I used to avoid super mutants, but since becoming the Mist of the Wasteland, their lack of perception worked in my favor. I even heard a bigger super mutant tell his green cronies “no fire at gas or make a big boom.” That was all I needed to get close enough to zap them. When the others decided risking an explosion was better than suffering a mysterious electrical shock, I was able to finesse my way to their skulls with my Gauss-rifle. I found an exhibit which said it contained a satellite. I took the only piece that looked like a dish and I made my way back to Sarah. ​I stealthed until I found her and revealed myself. I should really learn people don’t’s like being snuck up on; she was ready to take my head off with a Laser Rifle. ​“Your stealth capabilities might get you killed wastelander.” ​“Ask and you shall receive Sentinel Sarah Lyons.” ​“Is that a satellite dish? Where did you…” ​“Not too far from here, but it’s yours and that’s all that matters.” ​“You won’t tell me where you got it?” ​“I’m not sure if I’m done scavenging the place yet.” ​“You are required to report all technological discoveries to…” ​“I think you mistake me for one of you. You said come back with a satellite dish and we’ll talk.” ​“We are talking. Where did you get that satellite dish?” ​“A “talk” isn’t usually so one-sided.” ​“You first.” She insisted. ​“The Museum of Technology. Don’t worry there’s nothing alive there anymore.” ​“Thank you Wastelander, we can send scouts out to the area to reclaim and preserve the technology.” ​“You mean, you guys, whose sole purpose is finding and preserving tech, didn’t think to check the Museum of Technology.” ​“We’re spread pretty thin.” ​“Not thin enough to kidnap locals.” ​“What are you talking about?” ​“You know, your red and black wearing buddies.”​ ​“They are not Brotherhood of Steel.” ​“No? They certainly seem to think they are.” ​“We are not affiliated.” ​“I didn’t take you guys to be a divided faction.” ​“Just steer clear of them wastelander.” ​“Them and not you?” ​“Look here… what’s your name?” ​“I’m not sure if I want to share that with you.” ​“Well whatever it is, thank you. I know we can come across as cold and callous. But thank you, things have not been easy, and we appreciate your help.” ​“It’s nothing, I’m not sure why I did it, maybe I just like your hair.” ​She stared at me cryptic and confused. At that point, I figured I exhausted my charm and was beginning to feel shy. I left activating my stealth again. ​“I’m Gawen Vargas, and although it’s unlikely, I hope we meet again Sarah Lyons.”

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Follow

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2019 by YankeePCT. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page