top of page

APRIL 3rd, 2277 - Gawen

Updated: Apr 8, 2020

It wasn’t long before the caps started rolling in. I was scavenging so effectively Moira didn’t have enough caps to buy all my loot. I just gave it to her anyway, there’s no way I would’ve figured out this pip-boy without her. I didn’t stop there, I even participated in her research. She said she wanted to write a guide to help the people in our neck of the wasteland survive. I was sure she was capable of it, she’s the smartest person I know. I was able to keep some merc clothing I found and picked up a Chinese sword from Lucky Harith, right outside of Megaton. I still hoarded grenades, I had enough for a gun, but I still can’t afford the ammo. For some reason my odds with grenades are better in VATS than with a gun. Once I can afford ammo, I plan on practicing my shooting so I can help raise those odds. ​I stood next to Atom for two hours and vomited my way to Moira to help her understanding of radiation poisoning. I traveled through a mine field held together by stimpaks and med-x; I stepped on more mines than I disarmed. I might not have if it weren’t for some asshole taking potshots at me. He had the balls to come out in the open, so I lobbed a grenade at him. I expected an explosion, but fucking Atom, I inadvertently set off two frag mines on either side of him and a car he was taking cover behind. Talk about overkill, I didn’t even get a good look at the guy, but I dug around in what was left of him and found a key to the houses in the area.

​Every time I went out for Moira’s research, I was able to scavenge over a hundred pounds of goods. Sometimes I’d see a merchant on the road and get rid of some of it. I felt bad for not giving it all to Moira, but it was impractical to get around with that much stuff. What she didn’t know wouldn’t hurt her. She had me explode molerats and I sold their meat to other scavengers. She had me sneak into a mirelurk den and I grabbed a few hatchlings; it’s a wasteland delicacy. I was always broken to Moira’s delight. She obsessed with the pip-boy’s medical data. Even though I was sustaining injury after injury, I was becoming faster and stronger. I think it was all the extra food I was eating and purified water I was getting my hands on. I was more confident with my pip-boy than I had ever been. ​Despite that, I still didn’t like taking chances, I made enough mistakes to not risk an intentional one. I concentrated on remaining stealthy. I was able to find a couple of stealth boys and snuck Moira and I to Rivet City. I heard the place was well renown for its science and I knew Moira would love to tell them about her research. We travelled at night and headed to the sewer where she had me kill the molerats. We followed the water south until Rivet City was in sight. Some how we got turned around and ended up at this guy Dukov’s place. Dukov was great to me. It was just him and a couple of girls in lingerie. He offered us his chems and alcohol. Moira didn’t partake, but studied their effects on our behaviors, taking advantage of Dukov as a test subject. I guess not everyone enjoyed the set-up, because one of his girls, a redhead named Cherry left with us for Rivet City in the morning. I felt a little bad that she was leaving with us, especially since Dukov shared his whiskey and jet with me. But if she didn’t want to be there, she didn’t want to be there. ​We made it to Rivet City, but not before we witnessed some super mutants dragging some people into a dilapidated building. It really put a damper on things and I was about to VATS Cherry in her face. To be fair, she got a better look than Moira, but who the fuck screams when the mutant isn’t looking your way? I was glad to be rid of her once we got to Rivet City. She said her good byes and I was polite, but all I could think was good riddance. I don’t know what I was expecting, but Rivet City is a big boat. A bridge extended from the ship to the land and that’s how we got into the city. In Rivet City there’s one guard who doesn’t wear a helmet, and I can’t put my finger on it, but there’s something off about him. That and he’s a fucking asshole. “I got my eye on you.” He said. What the fuck is that supposed to mean? ​Moira tasked me with learning about Rivet City’s history while she checked out the science lab. I noticed that a piece of the ship fell off and I wondered if anything was left behind in the part not in the water. I slammed a med-x and jumped into the water from the flight deck. I came in through the broken side and swam up. I had to dodge some Mirelurks and I rushed my way up whatever stairs I could find to get away from them. I ran so fast that I accidentally set off some traps that caught the trailing Mirelurks. It was an accident but is was welcome. I finally caught one of the traps myself and ate a buckshot to the chest. I blew through four stimpaks. Good thing the med-x from my dive was still in my system. I found my way to a makeshift lab and I meet yet another Rivet City asshole. After exchanging heated pleasantries. “Who the hell… how the hell did you get in here?” “Through a hoard of mirelurks and a chest full of shrapnel, do I have you to thank for that?” “What the hell do you want?” “Well I was scavenging. But since it looks like this place is occupied, do you know anything about Rivet City’s history?” ​I didn’t expect to get an answer, but fucking Atom, this guy had a lot to say. He told me he founded Rivet City and how he used to run the science lab, but some bitch showed up and stole his job and how he had paperwork to prove it. I couldn’t believe I got exactly what Moira was asking for so soon. ​I asked him why people from Rivet City were assholes and told him about the other asshole I met at the entrance of Rivet City. He responds “Don’t compare me to that bucket of bolts!” I figured on account of how uptight the guard was. He was certainly laxer, because I picked up a few high value parts while he wasn’t looking. He also had a couple of books I could share with Moira. He was still raving about “That bitch Dr. Li!” When I left from a back door. I felt foolish when I saw that there was a ramp with land access, but then I suppose I wouldn’t have all this mirelurk meat to sell at the Rivet City market. I re-entered Rivet City and went right to their hotel where I met the yappy owner. She was able to get my clothes dry and I rented a room to prepare for the marketplace. Some other Rivet City asshole was giving me dirty looks. I asked the Mr. Handy who he was, and he told me his name was “Sister.” I almost laughed, but I just wanted to sell some things on the market. I kept his gaze as I walked out, begging him to strike first so I could VATS this Chinese sword into his face. ​I was able to sell all my Mirlelurk meat to the Market restaurant, Gary’s Galley. The owner’s daughter apparently has the hots for some guy named Diego, but he wants to be a priest or some shit. I don’t know why I eavesdropped, I was just bored, I guess. Moira came by and joined me at the restaurant. She wasn’t herself, so I asked her how visiting the lab was. She said they kicked her out and the only feedback she got was “Your science is extremely flawed.” ​“I guess I’m not a real scientist.” ​“Bullshit. Look at how good we’re doing because of your research. I’m not sick anymore, I’m becoming stronger. I use your food processor everyday. I’m living proof that you’re a scientist. Also you made a stick explode molerats.” I reassured her. ​“Well, I didn’t do that on purpose.” ​“I think a lot of science isn’t done on purpose. I mean look at these guys. They’re not that smart. They live in a big boat. Why would you live on something that can sink and is surrounded by Mirelurks?” ​“Is it as dumb as living in the crater of an undetonated nuclear bomb?” She laughed

​“Well it can’t be detonated anymore; one well-placed missile and this place sinks.” ​I guess I should’ve known that the Rivet City Security wouldn’t appreciate that. Moira and I were kicked out of Rivet City peacefully. Luckily Lucky Harith was just outside and let us catch a ride back with him and his mercenary.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Follow

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2019 by YankeePCT. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page